Gimmicks and Nau-Tanki!!!

13

14/01/2012 by Siddiqui Fayesal

Not long ago there was this crispy news article about madam Mayawati “ji” from the north (my native, btw) that she sent her private jet to Mumbai from Delhi to fetch her preferred brand of sandals. This was reported by Wiki Leaks in September recently. Although I have dire reservations about the sanctity of Wiki Leaks’ so called “Leaks” and I am also not very sure whether to believe this incidence or not. Knowing her she probably did, but judging a priori let it be beneath that gray proverbial cloud where she’s given the benefit of doubt. Though even when left at that, and coupled with our previous experiences drawn from the don’t-give-a-damn attitude of our beloved politicians, we surely know that IF it were true we shouldn’t be alarmed.

Why?

Because they can! And, because we let them walk away!

Mayawati (allegedly) spent Rs. 685 Crores on the 33 acre plot! The park is to “honour” those Dalits who cannot visit Lucknow.

This memorial is for so many Dalits who now live in the capital and also for the people of Western UP who can’t visit Lucknow.

While doing the usual politician thing she said that the Congress has failed to pay tribute to Dalit icons like Ambedkar or Kanshi Ram and that “Now we have given them that honour.”

She conveniently forgets to answer the Hows and the Whys of the situation while remaining aloof and ignoring outright the meaningless allocation of 18 Crores for fighting the menace of Japanese Encephalitis. And then she says that she has used only 1% of the UP budget for her “dream” project. I remember what Rohington Mistry had to say about Statistics when he wrote a cracker of an article directed at the Mumbai University’s then Vice Chancellor.

He is, we are told, a PhD in statistics – a useful subject for dealing with permutations, combinations and probabilities but silent on the matter of moral responsibility.

The same can be said about such statistics shoved on to our faces by these politicians. They take us to be a large mass of crap and trash! The sorry part is that we let them crap over us. We crib and crib and crib some more… but that is where we stop. No initiative. Zilch. Nothing. Just empty space. Not to be unfair by singling out ONE politician we can add umpteen to our list. There is Advani who tried very very hard to get to the hot seat by throwing the Hindutva card to the population. He realised (too late) that people are NOT soooo dumb after all. Modi will meet his downfall. His “industrial outlook” and “vision” will fall short. I swear it will. I’d rather NOT have good roads and bridges if they are meant as an eye wash to cover up the blood shed! There is Lalu who thought his idiosyncratic (read lunatic) behaviour will be tolerated for ever. Nitish Kumar, without pomp and band bajaas, is doing a much much better job than him.

Cut the crap!

Anyways, what makes us such pitiable that we are mentally and intellectually raped every few years? How come we stand up for another gang bang as soon as one of the “rapist” is done with us? Firangis come here and are in awe of the “bounce backiability” of Mumbaikars. Little do they realise that they’re thawing the vengeance that creeps within us! Little do they know that this is not something to be proud of. It is embarrassing to be able to keep a straight face when you know that you’re just about to be screwed. People say it takes a lot of guts to board the local trains after the blasts. Yes, it does. Now really! Do we HAVE another option? Yeah yeah we can talk in our holier than thou monotones and say that we can stage a black armband march or a flash mob. Hello, it does NOT work! It’s a step in the right direction, yes. But beyond that it’s nothing! Very rarely does something constructive come out from just a flash mob.

What we, as the future generation, lack is called “Thairao” in Urdu. I don’t really know how to explain it in plain English but it boils down to patience. We do not have the patience to look, and walk all the way, to the end of any situation. We get bugged. We get tired. We get impatient. We just fake a belief that we did what we could and now we cannot do anything further. And even after that initiative we took things do not go right we blame the victim. They let those people run over themselves, we say. They are never going to learn, we say!  They are not bothered, we say!

Till the time you don’t step into the shoes of an employee who has to work 11 hours every day to earn 8 grands a month we are in no position to say that these people don’t do anything. That these people let them walk over them. It is the duty of us privileged folks to do it FOR them! If they come out for the march and andolan their wives will go hungry; their kids will be kicked out of school; their job will no more be a given. Do we expect a man with a hungry kid at home to be bothered more about the immediate hunger of his child or his well being in the long run? Arre yaar agar mar gaya toh kaahe ka well being???

I have decided that from now, this very minute I am going to do a tiny act of  selfless service. Everyday! I’ll do something that is small, very small, but i will see to it that I go along with it to the end! A beggar on the street? No money. I will give him/her food! A wrapper in a garden? No swearing. I will pick it up and chuck it in the bin!

Morons making noise? No sleepless night. I will call the nearest police station and make sure they shut up. At least try to. If I have the audacity to ride without my helmet I better be up to paying the fine if I’m caught! Own up to MY faults. I crib about corruption and readily pay a bribe if I’m caught. Bloody hell!

I hope I stick to this. A small act. Everyday! Allah has given me so much. I should learn not to be an asshole! I’ve probably spent the last 24 years cribbing. I hope I stop. If not I’m just as much to blamed for the dirt and squalor around my area than the esteemed corporator!

Siddiqui F.

13 thoughts on “Gimmicks and Nau-Tanki!!!

  1. Hmm.. That gives me an idea for a flash mob… Kidding! On a more serious note… What are you doing as a CA..?

    • Oh god! Talking about THAT is sacrilegious on my blog:-p

      I work with my dad who practices in the field of tax consultancy! I’m vying to be able to give my dad a break from his work. Hence, the CA!

      PS: I am not yet a CA!!! Studying still!

  2. Jayesh says:

    Hmm… Great one,

    I know u hate modi, but I like him… regarding his past no one knows the real truth, so please without knowing exact truth, I don’t think one should make opinion about any one or comment on it, I like him because of work he has done in Gujarat, as far as controversial things about him, I avoid commenting or making an opinion as nor do I nor do anyone else I know the exact truth.

    If I say you killed someone, their will few who belive me and start hating you, spread the bad words about you and when people start listening it very often they think its true, but what is excat truth, no one know its just their thoughts which were build by someone and hammered so many times that they believe it, its only you who know what is right…

    Just give a thought to above para with a clear mind 🙂

    Jayesh

    • I see that your logic on interpreting religion and politics is the same. Nonetheless regarding the truth about Modi and his behaviour it will help if you read regional newspapers and personal interviews in THOSE tiny small time Newspapers. I have a copy of a telegu print article translated in an urdu paper printed at a 5 mins walking distance which talks about a certain Ehsaan Jaafery and his murder. I have an Outlook article which speaks to the non business muslim community about the growth. Yes, there is growth. If you read my article you’ll realise I haven’t denied the growth.

      But growth in spurts and ejaculations of numerics in areas and total lack of concern in some shows very well statistically but in a true picture it shows the reality!

      Before I forget there are various clippings showing hidden video footages of people going on rampages while the police does naught. I know you’re bound to be sceptical about the video. I respect that. Even I would be if I hadn’t seen other sources. Read the Commission reports.

      You do know that the Sri Krishna Commission has proven that the entire reasoning of the Bombay riots was blamed squarly on the shoulders of the Police and Communal politicians, don’t you? But do you see justice? Do you see truth. The Babri Masjid massacre took ace BEFORE the Bombay Bomb blast and who was indicted and charged and ridiculed first? It was the bomb blast charges. The Librehan Report ALSO blames the likes of Advani and Uma Bharti. Did it make any difference to THEIR life?

      The answer my friend is a No. The same i will say about Modi to you. There is truth for you to read if you see through your eyes. Don’t believe the national and best selling newspapers. I insist. But dig deeper. Ask abt developement not to the Tatas. Ask about it to the muslims and the under BPL populations living a ghetto life.

      Cmon we saw the difference between Chandni Chowk and Connought Place ourselves.

  3. Jayesh says:

    That’s what I tried to tell you long back, we pick up small-small things scattered around and come to our own conclusion (referring to bigger picture, if you remember we had a little discussion on that), no doubt politics is a bad game of bad people.

    I just trying to say don’t pull down a bad person (if you think he is) if he is doing little good along with few bad stuff unless you yourself wan take his place. At least he is doing little good rather than no good and that little good at his level is a big thing, as far as communities are concerned I have little to argue and frankly speaking I rather stay away from discussing such stuff.

    Yes saying bad about his work, will definitely contribute to improving his work but please don’t relate this to communalism that just create communal hate, you have a better way to say same thing, further commenting on someone’s persona until you don’t know him, just based on few articles and videos, which even you believe may be true may be not, nothing is reliable anything can be framed.. it’s politics my friend… look at the larger picture look at society growth rather than communal growth

    This is not all but just few words to say

    Jayesh

    • That’s the entire reason why I wasn’t exhilarated when I heard you speak about Chanakya! He is summarising something so complicated in a mere paragraph. In his days it might be true not in the days where information is aimed at a tea cup by a hose (i read this somewhere:-p)

      Chuck that. You are saying,

      “don’t pull down a bad person (if you think he is) if he is doing little good along with few bad stuff unless you yourself wan take his place. At least he is doing little good rather than no good and that little good at his level is a big thing”

      Wow! So basically I should sit back and look at the roads and bridges and saw “What a great man” and ignore the graves upon which they are built upon? So is this the new way of mass murdering and getting away with it? How nice!

      I have nothing to say about the corruption of Mr. Modi if the word corruption does not include “murder”. So if you want me to look at Modi from another angle,

      Also you said
      “Yes saying bad about his work, will definitely contribute to improving his work but please don’t relate this to communalism that just create communal hate, you have a better way to say same thing, further commenting on someone’s persona until you don’t know him, just based on few articles and videos, which even you believe may be true may be not, nothing is reliable anything can be framed.. it’s politics my friend… look at the larger picture look at society growth rather than communal growth”

      I am not talking about communal Hate boss. Lets say he killed Hindus! Would you say to yourself,”Its ok some people died but at least I’ve got a new road to walk upon”. Its NOT my fault that he happened to murder “muslims”. I did not ONCE talk about the Hindu-Muslim divide in my article! You did.

      I was judging Modi on his sheer audacity to murder and walk away!

      Also you saying that I should not talk about him if I dont know him personally is hogwash man! Technically you’re right. No doubt. But can I know ANY politician personally? Can YOU know them personally. Brother, even the reporters who report them and take cozy pictures don’t know him personally. Does that mean you’re to keep quiet about anything. Did you know Anna personally?

      That is why I am not quoting the TOI or IE. I’m talking of multiple newspapers, small time dailies. They are ignored by the corporates and politicians. Its what Noam Chomsky calls reading with your eye open!

      To quote William Blake, We are led to believe a lie – When we see not through the eye!

  4. Jayesh says:

    If I ever make a political party I would defiantly want you to be my speaker.

    You go on to extreme of everything I said, I agree with you in some way, whatever you wrote above.

    My only point was not to make bad opinion about anyone may it be Modi or someone else until its proved or you have enough facts about that (I know you can write paragraphs on “enough facts”, it’s just to say until its proved considering all circumstances)
    Am not saying not to crib about what happening in our front of our eyes in open, you will see many politicians saying rubbish on your face as they being extremist taking you away from main topic, that’s what you do when you have extreme look on something

    As far communal I was pointing to your line “Ask about it to the muslims and the under BPL populations living a ghetto life” it’s just not Muslims or undefined BPL population people from every society suffer due to political gimmick whether be Hindu, Muslim or any other religion or be it Rich or poor, I just suggesting to avoid mentioning any particular religion.
    You argued on point to point basis on what I wrote, this may be one way of dealing with it, I wrote all that keeping in mind macro level not on micro level (I don’t want details discussion on macro and micro, just try to understand what I mean)

    And when talking about someone unless you know him personally, I said “commenting on someone’s persona until you don’t know him” knowing someone doesn’t mean you need to know him personally, I was trying to say that when you comment on someone you should keep in mind FACTS about that person (and by FACTS I mean proven and well known FACTS not controversial)

    It may not be answer to all rather I am not trying to answer anything just putting up few points to think about

    After writing this much I feel even I should start writing… 😀

    Jayesh

    • 1. My only point was not to make bad opinion about anyone may it be Modi or someone else until its proved or you have enough facts about that (I know you can write paragraphs on “enough facts”, it’s just to say until its proved considering all circumstances)

      I really do have enough believable facts to rely upon.

      2. As far communal I was pointing to your line “Ask about it to the muslims and the under BPL populations living a ghetto life” it’s just not Muslims or undefined BPL population people from every society suffer due to political gimmick whether be Hindu, Muslim or any other religion or be it Rich or poor, I just suggesting to avoid mentioning any particular religion.

      Yes i do agree I did make that remark. You should check a back dated Outlook. I wish I could remember which month. I’ll get back to you on this.

      3. And when talking about someone unless you know him personally, I said “commenting on someone’s persona until you don’t know him” knowing someone doesn’t mean you need to know him personally, I was trying to say that when you comment on someone you should keep in mind FACTS about that person (and by FACTS I mean proven and well known FACTS not controversial).

      Again I can say that I have facts to rely upon. Reading between the lines is the crux!

      As to understand what I mean You should read about the “Encounter” of Ishrat Jahan. That was a proven case of Terrorism untill it turned out that it was a staged encounter. Also, refer to the Batla House Murder!

      I call it murder but the media called it encounter.
      After 2 years i was proven right!

      PS: I think I should write about the above 2 incidents too!

  5. Jayesh says:

    My friend there’s a hell lot of a difference between Believable facts and Proven Facts – Give a thought to it (back of the mind few old hind movies dramas)

    In the past you may be right about your theories (its not the case always) about any event based on few believable facts.

    My point in this argument is just that one should not put forth his theories based on a few believable facts (not proven facts) in such a way that it shows that his theories are true without any disclaimer.

    Your theories may be true, may not be true, but when you put forth such thing please think about how it will be perceived by another person and its implication (this is in a very general sense). Chances of you being wrong may be very minimal but if they are wrong, and this is proven after few years, the person who believed you will have your thoughts all those years until it’s proven otherwise.

    Last thing i would say is that before saying anything negative about anyone or anything you should be careful as negative thoughts multiplyat twice the speed of positive thoughts.

    Jayesh Rawal

    • I have to reply to this. Cuz you’d think i’m agreeing with you on all counts. (you yourself let it slip that day:-p)

      Believable facts are subjective to the kind of knowledge you possess…and I possess quite a lot, trust me (I’m talking about the present topic under consideration of course!!!) Proven facts are not under contention so let us not hark upon that.

      So Believable facts, since it depends upon the subjects knowledge, understanding, apprehension and analytic mind, are very subjective. If an agriculturists says something very profound that an economist is not aware of there are chances that he would call the farmers facts as mere “theories” and, in your words,”believable facts” not “proven facts”.

      That does NOT change the fact.

      Now, for the other part. When I said two nights ago that my writing is revolutionary you perhaps did not lean an ear on that. It is meant to tell people what IS and what should BE. If i am so sure about it I don’t know why I should NOT write and propound the same! Remember the maxim; Innocent until proven guilty? In my eyes He is guilty. And before you say that its not proven i’ll beg to differ. Apart from propagandists and statisticians everyone agrees. Who will I believe? A newspaper editor or a person like Megha Patkar who has given up everything for the Narmada Valley!

      What reason should I stop myself from calling a spade a spade. An opinion nonetheless, but a world weary and “Proven” opinion.

      PS: I don’t expect you to reply today, after all there is a celebration in order and richly deserving indeed. Congrats:-)

      PPS: I think I should stop here. I would rather prefer having your comments on other such posts too (there will be many):-D

  6. amarllyis says:

    🙂 Hey I like what has come out of cribbing! Glad that the post turned around in the end and so did you. Remember, inch by inch everything’s a cinch!

    Good luck!

  7. Jayesh says:

    Hey this discussion is never ending… but I am happy with the discussion we had last night, it’s difficult to get the message from above discussion which I wanted to convey, but I think you got it last night what exactly was the issue I wanted to raise… I agree this is almost impossible to get on to any consensus so will leave it on you to think from my prospective…

    Happy Ending
    Jayesh

What say you???

Ta-Daaaa

  • 9,723 hits

Click! Click! Click!

Join 370 other followers

Jump to…

Aamil Syed

Delusions of grandeur

BewitchinglyMe

In poetry, I find the secrets of the world laid bare.

Quirkazoid

...a whole buncha Tian'ness.

bookhad

book reviews and more...

Asha's Blog

~A Cauldron of Thoughts~

LongLivePalestine

لفلسطين الحرية

Murphy's Law

Musings from a Literacy Coach

Literature Is My Porn

"She read books as one would breathe air, to fill up and live."

Three Magical

Welcome to the inside of my head.

Redeem the Thought

because thoughts become movements

THE (GREAT) INDIAN POETRY COLLECTIVE

Publishers of Fine Verse from India

amarllyis

"After all, tomorrow is another day."

Getting Loquacious

About life and everything else!

kracktivist

Bridge the Gap , Bring the Change

| Ramble On |

And now's the time, the time is now, to sing my song

Unbound Boxes Limping Gods

The writer gives life to a story, the reader keeps it alive.

Ashish Shakya

Writer. Stand-up comic. General idiot for hire.

schizophrenic dreams

It is Dark, and I like it that way...

necessary means

occasional outbursts on art, philosophy, and life

JRSnap

... well we're going to die anyway!

Pulp & Fiction

We all change when you think about it. We’re all different people, all through our lives, and that’s okay, that’s good. You gotta keep moving, so long as you remember all the people that you used to be.

reading interrupted.

because reading also involves the way your head rests on your hand as you lean over a book, the damp mark you leave on a page when reading in the tub, or being interrupted by a

--- Grumpy Comments ---

TEDIOUS COMPLAINTS AND PETTY GRIEVANCES

ILM RUSH

Sharing knowledge benificial for duniya & akhira

Dad, the idiot

anchoring households for thousands of years

Yeha, Whatever.

(This blog looks boring, intentionally.)

My Musings

Simply Put....its a conglomeration of my thoughts as & when they occur

