Therapy

I list items down,
and then manually
Alphabetise them.

Not convinced,
I filter them again.

This time based
On length.

I sigh.

Content with what
I achieved as I
Sat and laboured through 14 items;

3 starting with an S
And 2 with W’s.

My therapist asked me to
‘Count my achievements
And to bask in its
Glory’.

One step at a time,
She said.

I pick up my phone
And decide whom to
Share this happiness with.

Of course, no details, but
I’d feel better if I spoke
To friends
‘With whom I shared moments
I loved to recollect’.

But those were moments,
I had protested.

The person was akin
To the walls of a cafe,
Or grains on a beach.

It was the coffee,
Or, the distant waves
I enjoyed.

Not the company.

Friends are integral,
She had maintained.

I scrolled past S,
But couldn’t find anyone.

Compulsion pulled
At me. I grimaced and
decided on a classmate
I frequented the
College canteen with.

6 rings and I heaved a sigh.

No answer was good.

He was busy, or perhaps
The ringer was off.

But something
Nagged at me.

Would I answer,
If I saw his name flash?

A resounding No echoed
Which I forced to
Quieten down.

‘Do what you enjoy
Instead of something
You don’t’.

So,

I list items down
And then manually
Alphabetise them.

Siddiqui F.

(22.04.2019)

NB: At Home.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.